WebsiteManager v1.0 Released!

Ladies & Gentlemen, presenting my first open-source application called WebsiteManager – finally released & ready for you good folks to use!

This version (v1.0) provides a UI to manage the ASP.Net Memberships & roles via a web application using ASP.Net MVC 3.5 (although you could use it on ASP.Net MVC 2.0 also)

I have a couple of useful ideas which I plan to implement in this application during the course of the new few releases.

So hang tight 🙂

Please feel free to download the latest bits from CodePlex, use it as you see fit. I would truly appreciate some feedback on this effort & open to any new ideas you would like to see put into the future releases.

Again – CodePlex is the place for all this information.

Have fun!

7 thoughts on “WebsiteManager v1.0 Released!

  1. Hi Sunny, your point is reasonable.
    Indeed, I’ve started my process of those things(upgrade to vs2012 internet templates, use razor view, trying to use SimpleMembership) before your response 😉
    While approaching, I realize the SimpleMembership is lack of official document, no “best practice” yet, etc.
    I’m a little cleanliness about the new things, if I start a new project at this point, I can’t bear of using old ASP.NET view, etc 😛
    So, as a compromise, I think it’s better to wait things clear as you say.
    If you have further information, will you please tell me? I’d like join you with this job.
    My email is victorwoo/at/gmail/com, if you use gtalk/msn/skype, please contact me?
    Thank you!

    1. Hi!

      Firstly, thanks for the interest in the WebsiteManager project.

      The project & the code is quick complete as is & there are no current plans to update/extend it; However, if you have any specific feature that you would like to see, I will be more than happy to update the code.

      Thanks!

      1. Hi!
        Thank you for your work and I even think it’s valuable to submit to microsoft and as a part of ASP.NET MVC project template, because it stands for a common scene when start building a website and is a good replacement of ASP.NET Web Site Administration Tool (WSAT) .

        I think there is something valuable to do:
        1. Migrate to ASP.NET MVC 4.5 with Visual Studio 2012
        2. Use SimpleMembership provider, which leads to the future.
        3. Make it a NuGet package? This maybe some harder 😛

        BTW, have you do some research about SimpleMembership? The default ASP.NET 4.5 MVC internet project template of VS2012 only recovered the scenes such as register, login using SimpleMembership providers. But how about list users, assign roles to user? Do we need to use the old Membership API or use Entity Framework directly to CRUD the user table?

        Thanks for your concern!

      2. Victor,

        Excellent ideas & something I definitely considered.

        However, I am not very happy with the current default membership implementation in ASP.Net MVC 4 as the below articles point out:
        Ref.: There is no try
        Ref.: Think twice about using MembershipProvider (and SimpleMembership)

        So, I think a little wait on these items to see how it shakes up before implementing a new version of WebsiteManager might be a better way of going about it.

        However, if you are using the default membership providers (pre-4.0 world), I think the existing code should work just fine & creating a Nuget package out of the code is trival, although I have not published it to the Nuget site.

  2. Thanks for this! I’m building a mvc application with authentication and this seems like a good start.

    Although I like what I see i missed a few things:
    1) As an admin I would like to add new users
    2) As an admin I would like to give an existing user a new password

    Is this on purpose? I don’t know anything about how sites normally implement authentication. So that’s why I’m asking.

    1. Hey! Thanks for the comment, appreciate the feedback.

      As for your questions:

      Although I like what I see i missed a few things:

      1) As an admin I would like to add new users
      – [Sunny] Initially, I had implemented this via the Create method of the User controller. Then I saw that ASP.Net supported “Register” mechanism where it is the users choice to register & the Admin would manage access. But you could do the same by calling the Register action through the admin screen.

      2) As an admin I would like to give an existing user a new password
      – [Sunny] yeah I will add this to the v2.0. Although it would be more on the lines of “auto-generate password” & “Reset Password” rather than supplying a new password explicitly. Does that work?

      Is this on purpose? I don’t know anything about how sites normally implement authentication. So that’s why I’m asking.
      [Sunny] – I have been trying to give a wrapper on the ASP.Net Memberships & Roles. Typically, asp.net web applications (from my experience) use it as is or write custom impementation (HTTPModules, forms you name it). But, I think I have a simpler (better?) solution which I term as “Access Point”. In the next few days expect a post on this concept & I would love to know if you would be interested in trying it out. I am planning to implement this concept as an extension to the ASP.Net Membership & role tables to tie up the whole concept.

      Thanks

Leave a Reply

